Infopoverty World Conference 2009

Wednesday March 18 

European Parliament Office, Milan

Sala Pirelli - Palazzo delle Stelline - Corso Magenta, 59

                             UNITED NATIONS HEADQUARTES

                                             Room 8, UN Plaza 1, New York

3.00 pm


Stefano Cacciaguerra, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Italy

Manfredi Palmeri, President of the City Council of Milan

10.00 am  Opening session



H.E. Ms. Sylvie Lucas, President of ECOSOC, Permanent Representative of Luxembourg

Sarbuland Khan, Executive Director, UN Global Alliance for ICT and Development

Pierpaolo Saporito, President, OCCAM; Founder of the Infopoverty World Conference

3.30 pm



Giampaolo Landi di Chiavenna, Councilor of Health, City of Milan

Maurizio Decina, Department of Electronics and Information, Politecnico di Milano

Andrea Ferrari, Councilor of Culture, City of Lodi

Eugenio Scanziani, Dean, Faculty of Veterinary, UniMI

Claudia Sorlini, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture, UniMI

Paolo Cortesi, DiPSA , University of Milan

Costantino Bolis, Hospital of Lodi

Giuseppe Bonelli, Head, Schools of Lodi 

10.30 am Session 1

Rural Development and Food Security Towards 2015

Chaired by: Sarbuland Khan, Executive Director, UN Global Alliance for ICT and Development


Anthony Dean, WINFOCUS Philadelphia

Daniele Trinchero, iXemLabs, Department of Electronics, Politecnico di Torino

John Steffens, InfoPoverty Institute

Art Cole, InfoPoverty Institute


2.30 pm - 6.00 pm Workshops

 Health, Education, Climate Changes, and Faith-based Initiatives

Chaired by: John E. Steffens, Assistant Vice Provost, Emeritus, Infopoverty Institute


Stijn van der Krogt, Director, Country programmes, IICD

Joshua Silver, Director, Centre for Vision in the Developing World, Univerisity of Oxford

Mark Rogers, the Clapham Group

Terri Hasdorff,Director, Washington Office - Food for the Poor, USAID

Ramòn A. Alonso Beato, Dean, Universidad Catòlica Santo Domingo

Mack McCarter, Founder and Coordinator, Community Renewal international

Doug Reid-Green, BASF Corp.

Adele Smithers, President, Smithers Foundation

Tariq Banuri, Director, UNDESA – Division for Sustainable Development*

Larry Smith, Director Saddleback Nationwide Initiatives

Nasir Mogul, Founding Chairman, DIEAH

Lira Samykbaeva, Kyrgyzstan Telecenter e-Health Project

Canan Sandikcioglu, Director, International Projects, METU Technopolis

Mario Bernardo Garnero, Vice President, Grupo Brasilinvest

Julio Volotao, Director, Grupo Ecorodovias

Frank Minaya y Willmore, President and CEO, Samana College/University Center, DR

David Neely, Leadership Baptist Global Response

Dale Neill, President and CEO, ICCC Global Trade Centre